Glen’s Chops and the Day the Metal Died

danzig-2I was in high school in the 90’s and heavy metal was in. I hated it. I didn’t drive so I was required to listen to whatever my chauffeur had on, which is only fair if something is hauling your ass around for free. But I truly detested it. Metallica, Motley Crue, Quiet Riot…I cannot even remember all of the names. Guns ‘N’ Roses, I liked but there was a lot of whistling so how that could really be considered heavy metal? Along with the huge hair my girlfriends loved their bandanas and metal T’s. I wondered how we were friends. I just bought my first full bottle of hairspray this year, I liked New Order and Jane’s Addiction they favored Skid Row and Poison.

I had one friend that loved Danzig. I mean you brought up Glen Danzig’s name and she would literally blush with longing, and start to giggle. Now I had never actually heard much of Danzig, but Glen Danzig with his huge chops that rivaled his huge muscles in his mesh shirts scared the living hell out of me. He looked like some mutant superhero villain.

My friend and I are older now, she has four children, is a respected business owner, part of too many committee’s to keep track of, and all-around amazing woman. But, occasionally you put a cheap beer in her hand (or 5) and bring up good old Glen, you see her cheeks turn a lovely shade of pink and that naughty giggle that belies raunch at the edges escapes her mouth. I love that.

.facebook_441152011I ruined it for her though, I found this picture of good old Glen in this sunny cable knit and kitty, and he didn’t seem that intimidating, in fact, he seemed kinda cute, I like this Glenn. The antagonizer that I am I had to send it to her, and in doing so I quieted that bawdy giggle forever. The day the metal died.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marta Wright
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 07:13:31

    Besides your eventful coffee trips with dog in tow, this is one of your best!

    Like

    Reply

  2. crazyawesomelove
    Dec 01, 2013 @ 09:54:17

    Too funny! Love it!!! Mesh shirts, man makeup and hair prettier than any girls lol – aweeee the good ol’ days lol. …

    Like

    Reply

  3. Dagmar Tully
    Dec 01, 2013 @ 18:16:45

    Oh, I was such the odd duck out in all of that!! But, I swear I learned to duck and weave like a madwoman avoiding my girlfriends constant clouds of aqua-net~

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

